A small fairly remote village on the north of the Ross of Mull peninsular in the Parish of Kilvickeon. The few houses are built overlooking the small harbor and foreshore.
Originally set up around 1787 as one of three fishing stations by John Maxwell (the Duke of Argyll’s Chamberlain), Kintra soon became a place of poverty and by 1844 had sixteen resident families who had no means to purchase boats and tackle and had only three cows between them.
Kintra’s story is part of a wider demise in the wealth of islanders on Mull in general with populations reducing and those remaining falling into destitution.
Kintra eventually became home to workers at the Tòrr Mhor quarry north of Fionnphort.
The village is approached from the south via the turning on the A849 Fionnphort to Bunnessan road. Spectacular granite outcrops surround the approaches to the village.
Parking at Kintra is very limited but it is well worth a look.
To discover more about Kintra and Mull’s history, the best book to read is:
Mull the Island and its People by Jo Currie published in 2000 by Birlinn and still widely available in paperback both on Mull and elsewhere.
Please note that the images and video content displayed on this site are Copyright © Barry & Mary Turner - 2016 - All Rights Reserved